View Full Version : Free media Hosting? Or Scam for hits?
sskys
12-10-2002, 08:49 AM
Ok, I saw this website, called free-root.com. Ok here's the deal. You bring in 100 uniqe hits a month they give you tons of space (500 mb) and if you bring in 500 hits a month, you get a wopping 5 gb... YES GIGABYTES! Is this a big scam for hits? or is it the best deal of a lifetime?? I already have ezaclty 100 hits that have gone to them. And they still haven't given me an account. I could need 1 more hit to make them give me an account...
I'll update on this topic.
*UPDATE: I just refreshed the free-root page were it says my clicks... AND IT TOOK ME DOWN 2 CLICKS TO 98!!! More updates later...
*UPDATE: Ok... I have gotten 101 hits and it says I need -1 hits for an account... and... Im just thinking... WERE IS IT?! Do I get it at the end of the month or what? They need a forum... Like this. :D
And sorry admin, if this is inapropreate for this board, youn can move it... Sorry if it is...
nidiaweb
12-10-2002, 09:19 AM
can i ask what this has to do with host ultra (here)
anyways here u get unlimited space
Host Ultra
12-10-2002, 11:23 AM
It looks like a scam to me
I could not find any sites hosted by them
They also claim to give out root access to their server, which is very unlikely
Yeah he's right. There are many like that, I have also tried a lot of them and not one has been real. They are tryin to make money off some kind of affiliates or sumthin.
Host Ultra
12-10-2002, 04:01 PM
They require you to put a banner ad on your site before they give you anything
Its the same sort of scam thats at www.freededicatedservers.com :p
Dark Hedgehog
12-10-2002, 04:53 PM
pffft...those people? i had a run in on them and i generated however many of them as they needed, after doing so, i asked PERSONALLY for a domain name and they said it needed to be everyday. some FREE host they are. scammy, aren't they? ^^; lol...so i basically deleted my account for them and they got mad and made me offers, i said stop or i'd sue them and they stopped...hehe...i can't believe how many people do this kinda crap OO
Dark Hedgehog
12-10-2002, 04:55 PM
what's the use of going there when you get +10,000x the stuff here you don't get there? it's just a domain name, i would rather it be a subdomain name if i had to go there OO hostultra is the best site host i have ever come across OO i even wanted to help out this site, but i wouldn't have the knowledge or time.
sskys
12-10-2002, 05:06 PM
Nonono, I wasn't thinking of moving to that server. I was just testing it to see if it could be my backup.... Look a lot like a scam so I thought I would reveal it for the world to see... Sence it garentees something it probly doesnt give, it could defenently be sued by someone... (Not me). It's just one of those things you have to reveal, ya know?
As for it not having to do with hostulta, well... it does, because that host is nothing to this one. :D
sskys
12-10-2002, 10:56 PM
Ok... Everyone... on that website... free-root.com...
Look at the banner... IT SAYS "Public Beta-Testing: Nov 5 - Nov. 15" Um... opps.. lol :D
dotsmedia
12-10-2002, 10:58 PM
they lied to me too :(
i'm gonna sue them for emotional damage :p
they got my hopes up and shattered them to many many little pieces :(
ME SUE THEM NOW! :p
EMOTIONAL DAMGE LAWSUITE!!!! :p
the only downside to hostultra.com i think is the 1 MB upload limit, if eric upgraded it to 3 MB :p
I'd be happy ;)
but right now hostultra seems like the host for me at the moment :D
Dark Hedgehog
12-11-2002, 03:17 PM
wha? you still get a 1 meg upload limit even WITH a domain name? OO wierd...but i still appreciate this service ^^;
Jochem
12-12-2002, 01:38 AM
why would you get more if you have a domain name?, it doesn't change a bit to what you get on free hosting....only difference is, you have a domain name...free..
Krip730
12-15-2002, 11:15 AM
Free Root.com is a scam, i sent them over 2300 unique clicks and still nothing. Their forum was entialed with complaints etc, and so they shut that down. Added to this they have no visable contact details, and they are closed on the "sabbeth" due to religious beliefs.
God help you if the server went down over the weekend...
- Krip730
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.